You want your audio files well organised… Welcome.

Metatogger is the new generation of tag editor allowing you to rename, tag and easily sort your MP3, FLAC, Ogg Vorbis, WMA and M4A files.

What is Metatogger?

Metatogger is a tag editor for audio files. These tags or metadata are helping to exploit with more efficiency audio files data. Most of the files are not coming along with metadata, while others are having wrong, useless or inconsistent data. Sometimes, even file name doesn't reflect the true content of the file. It is then difficult to identify the piece without playing it. This is where Metatogger makes it great.

Metatogger allows correcting or completing audio files tags. It comes with features that allow:

  • manual tags editing or with C# scripts;
  • retrieve tags from file name or paths;
  • rename files with tags content;
  • look after duplicate audio files;
  • organize files according to tags (copy, move, symbolic link);
  • retrieve tags in a local database of 1.5 million public records;
  • retrieve covers and lyrics from Internet;
  • identify files using acoustic fingerprinting technology;
  • easily clean unwanted tags.

Metatogger works with Ogg Vorbis, FLAC, M4A (AAC and ALAC) and WMA.


Metatogger brings together functionalities and ease of use thanks to a pioneering interface. The software does only one thing and makes it well, audio tag editing.

  • Pioneering user's interface of Metatogger.

    Pioneering user's interface of Metatogger 5.3.

    User's experience and comfort are the sole concerns of the author of Metatogger.

  • Searching into the local audio database.

    Searching into the local audio database.

    Audio information are coming from the MusicBrainz database.

  • Covers search tool.

    Covers search tool.

    Audio covers are downloaded from archive.org web servers.

  • Tag editing tool with scripts.

    Tag editing tool with scripts.

    Overview of downloaded lyrics from Wikia.com with filtering options.

  • Metatogger Application tab.

    Metatogger Application tab.

    Amongst others, user's options.

How much does Metatogger cost?

Metatogger is entirely free. It doesn't embed spyware, adware or any other malware. There are even no advertisemnt on this website. The programmer is bearing all development and publishing costs and is only supported by free donation that you are willing to give to encourage his work and development. Thank you in advance for all those who have already contributed or are willing to do so.


MusicBrainz Database

Metatogger allows automatic tagging when audio files are identified within the 1.5 million records local database coming from the MusicBrainz community. It is for instance very easy to locate track numbers!

Filetree use

It is possible to retrieve tags from a file name or from its path. Mutually, files can be renamed, copied (in true or virtual), or moved according to their respective tags.

Acoustic fingerprint recognition

Even if the filetree doesn't have valuable information to exploit, if the title or the singer are unknown, automatic tagging of the file is possible. Metatogger embeds Acoustid acoustic fingerprint technology.

Add lyrics and covers

Metatogger gives access to Wikia.com website for automatic lyrics finding. Metatogger is able to seach for covers through archive.org, to allow direct embedding in tags or to copy them in the folder where the audio file is stored.

Identification of duplicates

Metatogger is looking after duplicates using Acoustid acoustic fingerprint recognition technology. Even if they are not strictly identical (encoding parameters, file format, etc.), duplicates will be found.

Fast and easy tag editing

Any kind of tag can be added (multiple tags or with carriage returns) or deleted. With C# scripts, Metatogger allows to process all tags: character replacement, font modification, etc.

Metatoggerin the specialised press?

Metatogger offers fast and easy tagging of large music collections, a high degree of customizability, an attractive and efficient interface, and lots of convenience, including automatic updates. It shows just how far MP3 tag editors have come since the Napster era.

CNET Team, CNET Download.com

Après avoir testé un grand nombre d’applications diverses et variées en vue de renommer et ajouter des informations à mes fichiers MP3, aucune ne m’avait véritablement convaincu jusqu’à ce que j’installe Metatogger. Le point fort de ce logiciel (en plus d’être gratuit) étant qu’il fait vraiment tout tout seul… et qu’il le fait bien…

Keroin, KeroinSite.com

No overkill of tabs, windows, hundreds of options, slow tagging, large size. Metatogger is a solution for everyone. […] Behind its sober interface, has the most powerful features to customize as far as you want your music library. Adding your own tags is a breeze, organizing a huge library with personalized patterns, and even small scripts is not a problem, as little as sorting all the files you want to tag according to every possible criteria. The only limit for the advanced user is your own imagination. There are many other things to be said […], making the software faster, smaller, and more ergonomic than its competitors.

Softpedia Team, Softpedia.com

The good thing about Metatogger is that you can instantly preview any changes done to the file’s tags and then decide if you want to keep those changes or you’d rather discard them. Metatogger features a very attractive interface with a nice design.

Elena Santos, Softonic.com

Une fonction d’analyse sonore des fichiers est disponible, et vous permet d’identifier rapidement vos morceaux en double. Réorganisez vos fichiers, renommez-les ou supprimez-les en un clin d’oeil.

01net journalist, Telecharger.com

Ready to organize your music library?

Metatogger ia available in English, French, Italiano, Espanol and German, for Windows Vista or higher. The software is coming with the following licence.

Vous voulez une audiothèque bien organisée, bienvenue.

Metatogger est un éditeur de tags de nouvelle génération qui permet de renommer, taguer et classer facilement vos fichiers MP3, FLAC, Ogg Vorbis, WMA et M4A.

A quoi sert Metatogger ?

Metatogger est un éditeur de tags pour fichier audio. Ces tags ou métadonnées permettent d’exploiter plus agréablement les grosses collections de musiques. Le problème est que de nombreux fichiers audio ne contiennent aucune métadonnée, quand d’autres contiennent des informations erronées, inutiles ou incohérentes. Parfois, même le nom du fichier ne contient aucune information pertinent. Difficile, dans ces conditions, d’identifier un morceau sans avoir à le jouer. C’est là que Metatogger intervient.

Metatogger permet de corriger ou de compléter les tags des fichiers audio. Il dispose notamment pour ce faire de fonctionnalités permettant :

  • d’éditer les tags manuellement ou à l’aide de scripts IronPython ;
  • de récupérer les tags du nom du fichier ou de son chemin ;
  • de renommer les fichiers en fonction des tags ;
  • de rechercher les fichiers audio potentiellement dupliqués ;
  • de classer les fichiers en fonction des tags (copie, déplacement, liaison symbolique) ;
  • de récupérer les tags dans une base de données locale contenant 1,5 millions de disques ;
  • de récupérer les pochettes de disques ou les paroles sur internet ;
  • d’identifier les fichiers après analyse de leur empreinte sonore ;
  • de nettoyer rapidement les tags indésirables.

Metatogger supporte les fichiers Ogg Vorbis, FLAC, M4A (AAC et ALAC) et Windows Media Audio.


Metatogger a su concilier richesse fonctionnelle et simplicité grâce à une interface novatrice. Le logiciel ne fait qu’une seule chose, l’édition de tags de fichiers audio, mais la fait bien.

  • L’interface utilisateur novatrice de Metatogger.

    L’interface utilisateur novatrice de Metatogger 5.3.

    La qualité de l’expérience utilisateur est une précoccupation constante dans le développement de Metatogger.

  • La recherche de disques dans la base de données locale.

    La recherche de disques dans la base de données locale.

    Les informations sur les disques proviennent de la base de données MusicBrainz.

  • L’outil de recherche des pochettes de disques.

    L’outil de recherche des pochettes de disques.

    Les pochettes de disques sont téléchargées sur les serveurs d’archive.org.

  • L’outil d’édition des tags avec des scripts.

    L’outil d’édition des tags avec des scripts.

    On peut également apercevoir l’affichage des paroles téléchargées sur Wikia.com et les fonctionnalités de filtrage.

  • Metatogger, côté « coulisse ».

    Metatogger, côté « coulisse ».

    On y trouve notamment les différentes options offertes à l’utilisateur.

Combien coûte Metatogger ?

Metatogger est entièrement gratuit. Il ne contient aucun spyware, adware ou autre pourriciel. Il n’y a même pas de publicité sur ce site. L’auteur, qui prend à sa charge l’intégralité des coûts de développement et d’hébergement, n’est encouragé et soutenu que par les dons qui lui sont faits, via Paypal, par ceux qui apprécient son logiciel. Un grand merci à eux !


Base de données MusicBrainz

Metatogger permet de taguer automatiquement les fichiers en les identifiant dans une base de données locale contenant 1,5 millions de disques, issus de la base communautaire MusicBrainz. Très pratique pour retrouver les numéros de pistes des morceaux !

Exploitation de l’arborescence

Il est possible de récupérer les tags à partir du nom du fichier ou de son chemin d’accès. Réciproquement, les fichiers peuvent être renommés, copiés (physiquement ou symboliquement) ou déplacés en fonction de la valeur de leurs tags.

Identification par l’empreinte acoustique

Même si l’arborescence ne contient aucune information exploitable, si le titre du morceau ou son interprète est inconnu, il est possible de tenter de taguer ledit fichier automatiquement. Metatogger embarque pour cela la technologie Acoustid de reconnaissance par empreinte acoustique.

Ajout des paroles et des pochettes

Metatogger permet de rechercher automatiquement les paroles des chansons sur le site Wikia.com. Metatogger est capable de rechercher des pochettes de disques sur archive.org, pour ensuite les intégrer directement dans les tags ou les copier dans le dossier dans lequel le morceau est stocké.

Identification des doublons

Metatogger dispose d’une fonctionnalité de recherche des fichiers audio potentiellement dupliqués à l’aide de la technologie Acoustid de reconnaissance par empreinte acoustique. Les doublons seront repérés même s’ils ne sont pas strictement identiques (paramètres d’encodage, format de fichier, etc.).

Edition facile et rapide des tags

N’importe quel tag peut être facilement ajouté (tags multiples ou contenant des retours à la ligne) ou supprimé. Metatogger permet également, à l’aide de scripts IronPython, d’appliquer tout type de traitements sur les tags : remplacer des caractères, modifier la casse des tags, etc.

Que dit la presse à propos de Metatogger ?

Metatogger offers fast and easy tagging of large music collections, a high degree of customizability, an attractive and efficient interface, and lots of convenience, including automatic updates. It shows just how far MP3 tag editors have come since the Napster era.

CNET Team, CNET Download.com

Après avoir testé un grand nombre d’applications diverses et variées en vue de renommer et ajouter des informations à mes fichiers MP3, aucune ne m’avait véritablement convaincu jusqu’à ce que j’installe Metatogger. Le point fort de ce logiciel (en plus d’être gratuit) étant qu’il fait vraiment tout tout seul… et qu’il le fait bien…

Keroin, KeroinSite.com

No overkill of tabs, windows, hundreds of options, slow tagging, large size. Metatogger is a solution for everyone. […] Behind its sober interface, has the most powerful features to customize as far as you want your music library. Adding your own tags is a breeze, organizing a huge library with personalized patterns, and even small scripts is not a problem, as little as sorting all the files you want to tag according to every possible criteria. The only limit for the advanced user is your own imagination. There are many other things to be said […], making the software faster, smaller, and more ergonomic than its competitors.

Softpedia Team, Softpedia.com

The good thing about Metatogger is that you can instantly preview any changes done to the file’s tags and then decide if you want to keep those changes or you’d rather discard them. Metatogger features a very attractive interface with a nice design.

Elena Santos, Softonic.com

Une fonction d’analyse sonore des fichiers est disponible, et vous permet d’identifier rapidement vos morceaux en double. Réorganisez vos fichiers, renommez-les ou supprimez-les en un clin d’oeil.

Rédaction 01net, Telecharger.com

Prêt à mettre de l’ordre dans votre collection de musiques ?

Metatogger est disponible en anglais, français, italien et espagnol, pour Windows Vista ou supérieur. Le logiciel est soumis à la présente licence d’utilisation.